Society of Anaesthetists of the South Western Region

Log in

Members Area


SASWR was formed in 1947 with a membership of 48 in response to a suggestion from the Ministry of Health that regional societies might help to spread knowledge and promote friendship among members.

The objectives of the Society are to promote the development of knowledge and the art of Anaesthesia in the South Western region by means of lectures, discussion, practical demonstrations and films and in doing so to encourage co-operation and friendships between the anaesthetists of the region.

Now with around 500 members, SASWR continues to fulfil those initial objectives, and its meetings remain a significant event on the calendar.

The officers of the society are elected for three yearly terms with the exception of the president, who serves for one year. Local organising committees are arranged to create the bi-annual scientific meetings.


SASWR Constitution.pdf

This link opens the recently amended and updated constitution of the Society. Thanks to Mike Kinsella for his work on this.


Department of Anaesthesia 

Location A 704

Bristol Royal Infirmary

Bristol BS2 8HW

tel: +44 (0)117 342 2301


It cannot function properly without them. Your continued use of the site is taken as your consent to accept cookies. We only allow the  minimum set as required by the software.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software